Edwin Lieuwen Award for the Promotion of Excellence in the Teaching of Latin American Studies

The Edwin Lieuwen Prize for outstanding teaching or the promotion of outstanding teaching for Latin American Studies.
The prize may go to either an outstanding teacher or someone who has made excellent teaching possible with an
outstanding text or teaching materials or video (submitted via email in pdf format). Deadline: February 15, 2015.

Sterling Evans
Department of History
University of Oklahoma
Norman, OK 73019

Arturo Flores
Department of Spanish
Texas Christian University
University Drive
2800 S. University Drive
Fort Worth, TX 76129

Martin Nesvig
Department of History
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33124

Previous Award Winners
2013 Ann Twinam, University of Texas at Austin
2009 William E. French, Professor of History, University of British Columbia
2004 Susan Deeds, Northern Arizona University
2000 Frederick M. Nunn, Portland State University
        For the development of international studies programs at his university
1997 Sheryl Lutjens, Northern Arizona University
        For outstanding undergraduate teaching
1996 Pamela Llorens, Miami Public School District
        For organizing and directing the RMCLAS outreach program for high school teachers
1995 Richard M. Hopper, SR Books
        David Hotlby, University of New Mexico Press
        For the publication of Latin American books for classroom use
1994 Mark A. Burkholder, University of Missouri-St. Louis
        Lyman L. Johnson, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
        For the publication of the standard text Colonial Latin America
1992 Edward J. Williams, University of Arizona
        For outstanding graduate teaching in Political Science
1991 Raquel Rubio-Goldsmith, Pima Community College
        For outstanding undergraduate teaching
1989 Michael C. Meyer, University of Arizona
        William L. Sherman, University of Nebraska
        For the standard text The Course of Mexican History


  RMCLAS info:
  William Beezley

  John Klingemann